Cheap Meals: Chickpea Salad

When you’ve got a cucumber that’s going to go bad in the fridge, what do you do? I mean, I simply can’t eat that many cucumber sandwiches in a few days.

So on our grocery trip last Wednesday, we got a bag of radishes and a can of chickpeas. That’s all we needed.

I took the chickpeas (two cans, I already had one in the cupboard), about 4-5 big radishes, the cucumber, some basil off the plant in the window, and some kale still good from last week’s groceries (I kept it alive in a long, shallow dish of water). I chopped up all the veggies and mixed them up with the rinsed chickpeas, some salt and pepper, and the last of a bottle of zesty italian dressing.

I think that was the first time I’ve ever FINISHED a bottle of salad dressing…!

Et voila!

A cheap salad that lasted us about 6 servings of lunches. 3 days’ worth. I estimate it at being less than $1 per serving, based on what we typically pay for the ingredients. We also got the chickpeas on sale.

Easy. Cheap. Healthy. Tasty. Filling.

Check, check, check, check, check!

This one is a new favourite. 🙂

Leave a Reply

