Cheap Meals: “All the Things” Stir-Fry!

I made rice the other night, in order to get the very necessary “leftover rice” for stir-fry.

If there’s any rice dish we like more than plain, buttered rice, hot out of the pot, it’s leftover fried rice with a bunch of almost-wilted veggies in it. I’m not really a fan of tofu (as a food, or a concept), but we’re really lacking for protein in our meals lately, since Joe doesn’t eat meat and therefore, none of our shared meals contain meat.

So we got some tofu.

Then I emptied the fridge of all veggies about to go bad.

I am the queen of bringing vegetables back from the brink of death. Did you know that? It’s true.

I chopped up some wrinkled red pepper, bendy broccoli, bruised button mushrooms and extra-firm tofu. I put all the tofu cubes on a plate in a puddle of tamari sauce for a while, in order to give them some flavour (any flavour at all, really). Then I fried the tofu in a pan, until the sides were crispy. Red pepper takes longer than  mushrooms and broccoli (and you don’t want broccoli soft, just bright green), so that went in next. Then the mushroom slices, then the little broccoli trees. 

I sprinkle a bunch of Chinese Five Spice on there as it’s frying. Ooo yeah! Good stuff.

The leftover rice was next, and had to be broken up as it softened. I added more oil and stirred it around, made a little hole in the middle, and put a puddle of tamari sauce in the hole. Then I cracked an egg in there. This is the secret of stir-fry, I’m told. You have to trust the process.

Cook the egg halfway, right there in the middle, then start stirring like mad to mix it, and the tamari, in with the rice.

Note: This is not how my Mom made fried rice. I loved it, but I have no idea how she did it. Kind of like how I have no idea how she got us all up, fed, dressed and off to school before 8am. Did we get up at 4?!? The ways of the Mom are mysterious…

But the ways of the best friend are not! I am told this is the more authentic way. So I trust.

Ta-da! Fried rice. Makes 4 big servings, for very hungry people.

This is one of our favourite things, and it’s so easy to make!

As long as I can keep The Joe away from the fresh rice the night before…


Psst: before I had to make meatless meals, I would totally have sauteed some spicy shrimp for this…

Just sayin’.

One thought on “Cheap Meals: “All the Things” Stir-Fry!

  1. Marcela says:

    It looks delicious. You inspired me, therefore I’ll be cooking some fry rice tonight for dinner. I am going to check out what veggies I could use. Thanks for your great tips:-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

