Cheap Meals: Vegetarian/GF Spaghetti n’ Meatballs

 

I don’t know what got into me. But I decided to do something nice for Joe.

The Joe who eats no meat.

I decided to try making vegetarian meatballs, using only things we already had.

We did get groceries on Saturday (using $40 in points, and only spent $15! ☺️👍), but I didn’t get this wild and crazy idea until Sunday afternoon.

As with any unknown culinary venture, I first Googled “vegetarian meatballs”. There are a lot of recipes for meatless meatballs, guys!

Usually, I use my trusty method of reading several recipes and taking note of the proportions of common ingredients and then seeing what I’ve got to work with. Which I did do, but ultimately wound up referring a few times to this recipe and making a few alterations.

Most of the recipes I saw called for quinoa, but honestly, I really dislike quinoa. It’s FINE, but it’s not my favourite. I could have used rice, but we already eat a ton of rice. I also could have used millet, but I wasn’t sure if it would be too mushy for a meat-a-ball. So I chose sorghum.

If you’ve never had sorghum. It’s like barley, but more of a spherical shape. And it’s gluten-free. It gets good n’ starchy too, which I think really helped hold these suckers together. It’s also cheap.

A+++ for sorghum.

So I cooked 150g of that (about 3 servings) in 2 cups water, then set it aside to cool.

Then I finely chopped up an onion, about half a large box of button mushrooms, and a few cloves of garlic, and found some parsley and thyme in my cupboard. The recipe I was following said fresh herbs, but I didn’t have any. So I used about 1/2 tsp of dried thyme and 1 tsp of dried parsley. I didn’t add any salt and pepper, but I did add the recommended soy sauce (actually, tamari) which I didn’t understand the purpose of, so I only used about 1 1/2 Tbsp.

What a lot of work! The onion was sauteed separately, then set aside to cool. Then the mushrooms, garlic and thyme were sauteed next, with tamari, then set aside to cool. Then the sorghum, onions, mushrooms, garlic and thyme were all mushed together in a bowl with GF bread crumbs (about 3/4 cup), parsley and eggs, until it was kind of paste-y. Then I refrigerated it.

1. Because those were the instructions, and B. because Joe wouldn’t be home for a while.

After a while, I used a Tbsp to make little balls, and then I fried them in nearly an inch of oil. Omg. It was beautiful.

Joe came home, snuck a meat-a-ball and then immediately died.

Then he came back to life, gave me a smooch, and died again.

Then we made spaghetti. With the meat-a-balls.

So good. Soooo good.

I’ll definitely be making these again (when he’s home… so he can friggin’ help with all that g** d*** chopping!)

We were so full afterward, we had to go for a walk around the block. Joe jumped in a bunch of snow piles and tried to offer me gum from the sidewalk. Straight from The Notebook he is. 😂❤️

Do you have a vegetarian version of a traditionally meat-y recipe that you love? Feel free to share!

One thought on “Cheap Meals: Vegetarian/GF Spaghetti n’ Meatballs

Leave a Reply

